What you can achieve at Beavers

Chief Scout’s Bronze Award

This is the highest award a Beaver can earn, and it’s something you work on gradually throughout your whole time in the section. To get your hands on one, you’ll need to complete all of the Challenge Awards, as well as any four Activity Badges of your choince (including Staged Activity Badges).


Challenge Awards

Challenge Awards are all about stepping outside your comfort zone. Try out something you wouldn’t normally be interested in. Take the lead on something that scares you. Along the way, you’ll unlock hidden talents and stand tall.

There are six challenge awards for Beavers:

  • My Adventure Challenge Award
  • My Outdoors Challenge Award
  • Personal Challenge Award
  • My Skills Challenge Award
  • Teamwork Challenge Award
  • My World Challenge Award

Membership Award

When you make your promise, you’ll be given your Membership Award. It features a picture of the fleur de lis – an international symbol, worn by Scouts all over the world.


Joining In Award

Joining In Awards celebrate every year you spend with us. If you’re an eager Beaver, you can collect up to two during your time in the section.


Leadership Stripes

Within their Colony, Beavers are part of a Lodge. A Lodge is a smaller group of Beavers, sometimes headed up by a peer leader. These peer leaders may be known as Lodge Leaders, Lodge Friends, Junior Leaders or another name.

Peer leaders are Beavers chosen to take on extra responsibilities, such as helping new starters settle in, or helping run extra games. This is usually for one term, so that everyone has a chance to have a go. When they’ve finished their time as a peer leader, they can proudly wear their leadership stripes to celebrate their hard work.


Moving On

Between the ages of 7.5 and 8.5, it’s usually time for Beavers to become Cubs. Complete this award to get to know your new leaders, make new friends and get a taste of what Cubs is really like before the big move.